First blog post

Wohooo, my very first post on this blog! I think I’ll just introduce myself a bit:
I am Lisa, currently 22, living in Berlin. I was born in Chemnitz in Saxony though. I have also lived in Dallas, Texas for a while and worked as an Au Pair for the most perfect family. My hostmum helped me a lot with figuring out what to do with the rest of my life, or maybe she just helped me to really go for it, because, to be honest, graphic design has always been my first choice, even right after middle school, when I had basically no idea what it actually meant. And now I study Graphic Design and visual Communication in Berlin.

I want to say that I have always been drawing, but that is simply not true. I started drawing when I was about 12. I saw the Anime One Piece on TV one afternoon and was so fascinated by the way it looked, that I wanted to create this myself. And I did. I still have the first thing I intentionally drew. It was the main character Ruffy.

In middle school, all the way up to tenth grade I drew a lot of  Manga and just doodled a lot. But then I changed school to get my High School Degree and the easy days were over. I left the house at 6:15 am and sometimes didn’t get home until 5:30pm. I had about an hour long way by tram and bus and after using my head all day, I just didn’t feel like using it more to draw, especially if I had homework as well. So I stopped drawing.. It was never a conscious decision, it just happened. I still doodled here and there, but that was rare. When I finished school and started being an Au Pair, I wanted to draw again but found myself struggling because I had lost all my skills. I also put a lot of pressure on myself and started thinking way to much about it. And I still do. I still struggle with drawing because I constantly compare myself to others and think about it to much.

So that’s the very basic struggle of me as a design student.They say we don’t necessarily need to be able to draw. And they also say that the agencies will love us if we can draw. So, yeah. The only thing you need to be able to do, is to visualize your thoughts. Bring your ideas on paper, either for you to remember it better or for others to understand. Something I learned in the first semester. But then again, you can never have enough skills, right? If I can draw well, I can use it in my designs, so: I need to be able to draw. Or better: I want to be able to draw. And that needs practice but I am also a lazy person, so even though I love drawing, I sometimes just can’t get myself to do it, because I don’t want to mess it up. I have a big collection of pens, markers and pencils and several sketchbooks but I am always afraid to mess things up. And this is annoying. I am working on it though 🙂

So, I think this is enough for the first post. I don’t know if I will post something every week or every day or probably just whenever I want or when I think of something. 🙂

Leave a Reply

